Board of Directors

Annually, the Friends meet to elect officers and board members. These dedicated volunteers oversee the fundraising, management, and committee activities of the organization.

Olivia Hathaway with her bookmark design

Olivia Hathaway

Teen Representative

Olivia has volunteered at the Fishersville Library for several years. She was also the winner of the teen bookmark design contest in 2015.

Claire Covington

Claire has a Master of Library & Information Science. She was previously the assistant director of the Waynesboro Public Library and worked in youth services at the Fishersville library.

Amy Skretta

Amy Skretta

Vice President

Amy recently received a Master of Science in Information Science from the University of Tennessee. As part of her coursework, she completed a special project at the Augusta County Library. She also taught school for nine years and has worked as a children’s librarian.

Carol Turrentine

Carol Anne Turrentine

Library Board Liason

Carol is a professional photographer who was formerly the chair of the board of the Putnam Valley Arts Council in New York. She also volunteers at the Augusta County SPCA.

John Oakley Pearson


Oakley is the retired Director of the Talking Book Center, located in the Staunton Public Library.

Ruthie Snyder

Recording Secretary & Churchville Liaison

Ruthie is retired from Augusta County Schools where she was an elementary school teacher.  She volunteers at the Churchville Branch Library weekly, the Churchville Food Pantry and H.E.L.P.

Catherine Morris

Corresponding Secretary

Catherine was the former librarian at Lee High School in Staunton and enjoys all facets of library work.

Pat O’Neil

Patricia T. O’Neil

Past President

Pat taught high school chemistry for seven years and was the owner/operator of Chestnut Hill Farm in Groton, Massachusetts, before moving to Augusta County. She has been a library volunteer since 1994 and also volunteers with the local 4-H Club and the American Red Cross.

Diantha McCauley

Diantha McCauley, MLS

Library Director

Diantha is the Director of the Augusta County Library system. She has a Master of Library Science from The Catholic University

Helen H. Chew

Landscaping Committee Chair

Helen is a Master Gardener who enjoys working on landscaping projects both at home and at the Augusta County Library.

Leonardo Lopez


Lopez is a teacher at Buffalo Gap High School who enjoys volunteering at the Churchville Branch Library.